Unison vs Point: Your Credit Score and How the Share Is Measured Decide It

Credit score, caps, term, fees and states, plus what each costs at the same sale price, from each company's published terms.

Unison vs Point is a match between the two products that can run the longest. Each lets you go up to 30 years with no monthly payments, and each ties what you owe to your home’s price. They measure it differently. Point takes a share of appreciation above a starting value set well under your appraisal, and limits the result with a cap. Unison shares in the change in value from a starting value 5% under your appraisal. The credit bar differs too: 500 at Point, generally 620 at Unison.

Our take: Look at Point if your credit score is between 500 and 619, if you don’t want your income reviewed, if you need up to $600,000, or if your home is in one of the 11 states where Point is an option and Unison isn’t. Look at Unison if your score is 620 or higher, you live in the home, you plan to stay five years or more, or you’re in Delaware, Kansas, New Mexico or Rhode Island. If you could qualify for both, get both estimates and compare them in dollars.

Unison and Point at a glance

Every figure below is from each company’s own website, as we published it in our reviews. Both record a lien on the home to secure their interest.

Minimum credit score500
Amount$30,000 to $600,000
Share of home valueGenerally up to 20%
Term30 years
Monthly paymentsNone
Company fee3.9%, $2,000 minimum
Settlement based onAmount received plus a share of appreciation
Starting value for the shareSet below your appraisal (27% below in Point’s example)
Limit on costHomeowner Protection Cap: rate set in your offer
Availability29 states and D.C., select regions
Minimum credit scoreGenerally a mid-FICO score of at least 620
Amount$30,000 to $500,000
Share of home valueUp to 15%
TermUp to 30 years
Monthly paymentsNone
Company fee3.9%
Settlement based onWhat you received, plus or minus a share of the change in value
Starting value for the shareYour appraisal minus a 5% Risk Adjustment
Limit on costNo overall cap published
Availability22 states and D.C.

More in our reviews: Point review, with costs, requirements, pros and cons, and the Unison review.

The differences that decide the outcome

Credit score and what each one checks

Point requires a minimum credit score of 500 and doesn’t verify income or employment. Unison says applicants generally need a mid-FICO score of at least 620, and it reviews your income and property as well. For Unison, the allowable loan-to-value and debt-to-income levels go down as the credit score goes down. If your score falls between 500 and 619, Point is the only one of the two worth a look. Above 620, your score still shapes what Point offers: it helps set your maximum amount, your HEI percentage and your cap.

How the share is measured

With Point, you owe what you received plus an agreed percentage of your home’s appreciation, which Point calls the HEI percentage. The gain is measured from an Appreciation Starting Value that Point sets below the appraisal. In the example on its product page, a $500,000 home gets a starting value of $365,000, so a home that only holds its value still shows a gain. Point doesn’t publish the HEI percentage or the cap rate. Both come with your offer.

With Unison, you return the amount you received, plus or minus its Investor Percentage of the difference between the Original Agreed Value (your appraisal less a 5% Risk Adjustment) and the ending value. Unison says its percentage is typically four times the percentage it invested. Receive 10% of the home’s value and it shares in 40% of the change. On a $500,000 home, the starting number is $475,000.

What happens when the home loses value

Point says it shares in a loss if the value falls below the starting value, so you may owe less than you received, though it notes that isn’t typical. In its example the home has to lose 6.25% a year for five years before the amount due dips just under the $50,000 received.

Unison’s rule has a time limit. If you sell in the first five years, or buy Unison out at any point, it doesn’t share in a decrease, and you owe at least what you received plus its share of the Risk Adjustment. After the restriction period, a sale at a lower value could mean you owe less than you received.

Caps on the cost

Point runs two calculations at the end and you pay the lower one: the appreciation formula, or the Homeowner Protection Cap, which is a fixed annual rate compounded monthly on the cash you received. Point says the cap is most likely to apply in the first few years. Unison has no overall cap that it publishes. An Equity Appreciation Limit caps its return if you end the agreement in the first five years, but the rate isn’t published. If your home grows fast, that’s a real difference.

Term and the end of it

Both can run as long as 30 years, and both let you settle sooner. When the term ends, Point says it may exercise its option under the agreement and become a co-owner with the right to sell the home. Unison says you need to buy it out or sell, and that a refinance to fund the buyout might be possible but isn’t guaranteed. Unison also warns that refinancing during the term could be harder, because some lenders won’t lend behind an agreement that shares in appreciation.

What each one costs at the same sale price

Point publishes one cost example. It’s the cleanest place to line the two up, as long as you remember what’s real and what’s assumed.

The inputs: a $500,000 home, $50,000 received and a sale after five years. The Point amounts are Point’s own, from its product page, and they depend on an HEI percentage and a cap that Point set for that example. The Unison amounts are ours. They apply Unison’s published method with an Investor Percentage of exactly 40% (10% of the home’s value times four), a starting value of $475,000, no remodeling or maintenance adjustments, and a sale after the restriction period.

Sale price after 5 yearsPoint is paid (Point’s example)Unison’s 40% share, plus your $50,000
Value rises 3.5% a year: $593,800$114,300$97,520
Value rises 5.5% a year: $653,500$119,200$121,400

Point’s amounts are from the example on its product page, which describes the cost in both rising scenarios as capped. Unison’s amounts are our arithmetic: $50,000 plus 40% of the difference between the sale price and $475,000, rounded to the nearest dollar. Fees aren’t included. This is an illustration, not a quote.

At a sale price of $593,800, Unison’s method comes to $97,520 and Point’s example to $114,300. At $653,500 they nearly meet, at $121,400 and $119,200. Past that point Point’s example is capped and Unison’s keeps climbing: by our arithmetic a sale at $700,000 would mean $140,000 at Unison. So in this illustration Unison costs less in a moderate market and more in a hot one.

Don’t over-read it. Your Point offer could carry a different percentage and cap, and your Unison percentage is set in your agreement. The point of the table is the shape: Point’s cost levels off against its cap, and Unison’s keeps following the home’s value up.

Run your own numbersSee your offer from Point and get a cash estimate from Unison, then compare the two projected amounts for the year you expect to sell.

Fees and closing costs

Both charge 3.9% and take it out of your proceeds at closing. Point has a $2,000 minimum, so it costs a little more on the smallest amounts. Above about $51,282 the two are identical.

Amount receivedPoint feeUnison fee
$30,000$2,000$1,170
$50,000$2,000$1,950
$100,000$3,900$3,900
$300,000$11,700$11,700
$500,000$19,500$19,500
$600,000$23,400Above its $500,000 maximum

Our arithmetic from each company’s published fee: 3.9% at both, with a $2,000 minimum at Point. Point’s site also describes its fee as up to 3.9%. Third-party costs come on top at both.

Third-party costs vary by state and county. Point lists an appraisal of up to $1,000, title and government charges of $1,000 to $1,600, a credit report of $40 to $50 and a $12 flood certification, plus $130 if counseling is required and $199 for each lien payoff, up to $597. At the end it lists a reconveyance fee of $40 to $70 and a recording fee of $50 to $250. Unison publishes an appraisal of $450 to $1,250, a home inspection of $650 to $1,050 and settlement costs of $700 to $1,750.

Who qualifies

Both evaluate each home individually, so treat these as published starting points. Meeting them doesn’t mean an approval.

RequirementPointUnison
Minimum credit score500. Waiting periods apply after a bankruptcy or foreclosureGenerally a mid-FICO score of at least 620
Equity and leverageUsually 27% or more left once Point has invested, and typically 45% if Point holds third lien positionMaximum loan-to-value of 70% with excellent credit, and lower as the score goes down
Home valueAt least $155,000Not stated
Property typesSingle-family homes, condos, townhomes and 1 to 4 unit properties on lots of 7 acres or less. Manufactured and mobile homes, co-ops and properties held in an LLC are excludedSingle-family homes, townhouses and condominiums
Second homes and rentalsQualify under different underwriting criteriaIn some cases only. Typically a primary residence you live in at least 180 days of every 365
Lien positionPrefers first or second and must hold at least thirdSecond position when you have a mortgage
IncomeDoesn’t verify income or employmentReviewed along with your credit and property

Not stated means we didn’t find the figure on the company’s public pages.

States served by each company

Point serves select regions of 29 states and Washington, D.C., and says availability may vary by county. Unison covers 22 states and D.C. Eighteen states, plus D.C., are on both lists.

Both Point and Unison: 18 states and Washington, D.C.

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Washington, D.C.

Point only: 11 states

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Illinois
  • Maryland
  • North Carolina
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Washington

Point serves select regions, so confirm your address when you prequalify.

Unison only: 4 states

  • Delaware
  • Kansas
  • New Mexico
  • Rhode Island

Neither company: 17 states

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • New Hampshire
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

The section on when neither fits covers who else lists some of these.

Getting an estimate from each

Neither estimate commits you to anything. Point puts prequalifying at about 60 seconds with a soft credit inquiry. After the full application, a valuation and a title review, you sign with a notary, wait out a three-day rescission period, and funds typically arrive three to five business days after that.

See My Offer at Point

Unison says a quote takes 2 minutes with zero impact on your credit. You then apply online or with one of its home equity specialists, and Unison arranges an independent appraisal.

See Cash Estimate at Unison

When neither is the right fit

Sometimes the honest answer is somebody else.

Your credit score is under 500. That’s below the published minimum at both.

You’d rather not share in the home’s growth at all. If you can document income and carry a payment, a HELOC keeps all of the gain. Our HEI vs HELOC comparison walks through it.

Your state is on neither list. Hometap lists Alabama, Idaho, Montana and New Hampshire, Splitero lists Idaho, Montana and Wyoming, Nada includes Arkansas, Louisiana and Oklahoma, and Unlock includes Vermont and Wyoming. In Alaska, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, North Dakota, South Dakota and West Virginia we have no home equity agreement company to point you to, and in Texas only one lists the state. A HELOC or home equity loan is usually the practical route there.

You want a wider field. Our comparison of home equity agreement companies covers more options.

Unison vs Point in short

Point is the lower credit bar, the larger ceiling and the cap on the cost. Unison is the cost that follows the home’s value, a starting value only 5% under your appraisal and a higher credit bar. Both give you a long runway with no monthly payments, and both will cost you far more than you received if the home does well.

Point could make sense if your credit score is 500 or higher, you want up to 30 years, your income is hard to document, and your home sits in a region Point serves.

See My Offer at Point

Unison could make sense if your mid-FICO score is 620 or higher, you live in the home, you plan to stay at least five years and you expect it to gain modestly.

See Cash Estimate at Unison

More: See more home equity agreement companies, compared

Unison vs Point questions, answered

Which is better, Unison or Point?

Neither is better for everyone. Point is the one to start with if your credit score is between 500 and 619, you’d rather not have your income reviewed, or you live in a state only Point serves. Unison is the one to start with if your score is 620 or higher, you live in the home and you expect modest growth. If you could qualify for both, compare an estimate from each in dollars.

What credit score do Unison and Point require?

Point requires a minimum credit score of 500. Unison says applicants generally need a mid-FICO score of at least 620. Qualifying also depends on your equity, the property and where it’s located.

Do Unison and Point share in a loss?

Both can, with limits. Point says it shares in a loss if the value falls below its starting value, though that isn’t typical. Unison shares in a decrease only after its restriction period, and not at all on a buyout.

Which has the longer term?

Both can run as long as 30 years. Point’s term is 30 years, and Unison’s is up to 30.

Which costs less, Unison or Point?

It depends on your offer and your home. In our illustration on a $500,000 home with $50,000 received and a sale after five years, Unison’s method comes out lower at a sale price of $593,800 and slightly higher at $653,500, and higher still beyond that, because Point’s example is capped. Both rest on assumptions, so compare your own two estimates.

Are Unison and Point in my state?

Eighteen states and Washington, D.C. are on both lists: Arizona, California, Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin. Eleven more states are Point only and four (Delaware, Kansas, New Mexico and Rhode Island) are Unison only. Both serve select areas, so your address has the last word.

How we put this comparison together

This comparison is Banks Done Right’s editorial view. Every figure about Point and Unison comes from our own published reviews of each company, which are built on the companies’ product pages, FAQs and help centers, read on October 6, 2026. We did not give either company a score. The Unison amounts in the sale price table and the fee table are our own arithmetic from the published methods, and the state overlaps are counted from the two published lists.

Sources (2)

The company figures were read on each company’s own website on October 6, 2026. Our reviews list those pages.

  1. Banks Done Right. Point Home Equity Review. banksdoneright.com. Accessed October 13, 2026. Company figures in it were read October 6, 2026 from point.com and help.point.com.
  2. Banks Done Right. Unison Review 2026. banksdoneright.com. Accessed October 13, 2026. Company figures in it were read October 6, 2026 from unison.com.

Take the next step.

Get an estimate from each and set the numbers side by side.

PointHome equity investment

No monthly payments. No income requirements. No need for perfect credit.

See My OfferSecure link to the official site
UnisonHome equity agreement

$30,000 to $500,000. No monthly payments for up to 30 years. Applicants generally need a mid-FICO score of at least 620.

See Your Cash EstimateSecure link to the official site
Still deciding? Compare all companies

Keep reading

Terms, pricing and availability change. Check the current terms on each company’s site before you apply.

Related